Bridge Rectifier Food Computer

Great kick off session tonight.

We are going to pull this off.

Watch this:

2 Likes

Itching to get started on this. Just waiting for the version 2 announcement. Any day now…

Interesting post.

We will need one of these ourselves and I will buy the various bits if I can get some help to assemble it.

Looks like I’m going to need to learn how to solder, yikes :scream:

http://adrianllu.com/2016/04/17/motherboard-build-notes-part-1-micro-controller-protoshield/

Open AG discourse on-line here.

It looks like it will become a great resource.

I’m starting to get sucked into the world of Arduino. Help! :open_mouth:

I’m no expert on Arduino, @treb0r, but I’m happy to help as much as I can. I don’t think you’ll be short of help in that area.

Despite the crazy speeded up high pitched voice, these videos are a good way to understand what’s involved in building a food computer.

Still no word on version 2.0 of the Personal Food Computer. There is however plenty of activity on github, which seems to bode well.

I’ve yet to read ask the links in this thread, but have just reviewed the Food Computer main board BoM, (11 months old, V1 ?).

https://github.com/OpenAgInitiative/gro-hardware?files=1

I wanted to see (i) What is monitored, (ii) What is potentially controlled, (iii) Rough idea of energy consumption.

I’ve only guessed at what items would be the largest power consumers. Assuming only the three items below, let’s say 350W max.
Energy consumption? I’ve no idea of the duty cycle of the heater and LEDs but made a wild guess at 40% ON time.
350 x 40% => 0.14KWh / Hr.
=> 3.36KWh / day.
=> 100KWh / month.
=> ÂŁ15 / month (ÂŁ0.15 / KWh).

Circulation / Vent Fans: 8W
LEDs: 138W
Heater: 200W

Humidifier
Air Pump
Aquarium Pump

Water Temperature + Conductance Sensor
pH Sensor
CO2 Sensor
Light Intensity Sensor
Air Temperature and Humidity Sensor